Corn and Buttenut Squash Chowder

If any of you reading this know me personally, you might know that for the month of December, I’ve given up added sugar.  For me, not having to navigate through all of the cookies, cupcakes, candy canes, and various other treats that are around on a daily basis through this holiday season felt like the easiest way for me to make it to the other side and feel good about my choices.  It gives me the opportunity to put blinders on rather than negotiate with myself and figure out when I’m going to indulge and when I’m not. 

This all leads me to today.  I woke up with corn on my mind.  For some, corn makes a regular appearance on their plates or in their bowls.  For me, often I could take it or leave it, so I usually leave it because there are other veggies that I just like a lot more.  Not today though.  I imagine this intense craving has something to do with corn’s natural sweetness.  As I first put this pot on to boil, I knew it was going to be a special creation, and that it is…. I’m cooking up new stuff all the time, okay…well some of the time, but this one deserved a blog post.

Corn and Butternut Squash Chowder (I’m calling it a chowder because it’s a thicker, chunkier soup, but bears little resemblance to traditional chowder).

Image

Ingredients

  • 1-2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 6 cups water
  • 3 cups corn
  • 20 oz. cubed butternut squash (I buy the pre cut squash because I’m lazy like that)
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 can white beans (If you don’t like beans, you can certainly leave these out, I just try to sneak protein into my pots whenever I can)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Chop and saute onions and garlic in olive oil until soft (about 8 or so minutes).  While sauteing cut about 1/3 of the squash into small pieces and set aside. Add 6 cups of water, the remaining squash, 2 cups of corn (I used frozen), salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper.  Bring to a boil and simmer covered for about 25 minutes, until squash is soft.  Puree either with an immersion blender or in batches in the regular blender.  Once pureed, add remaining squash, and final cup of corn.  Simmer again for about 15-20 minutes, until squash is soft.  Add the beans and cook for a few minutes until beans are warm throughout.

Today, I was wanting to keep things pretty basic, but the possibilities are endless with this base.  I’m thinking sauteed mushrooms, spinach, or bits of kale would be great add ins. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment