Napa Cabbage Salad

Image

Yesterday, while I was grocery shopping, I had the urge to buy a Napa cabbage.  It was just so pretty (weird, I know) that I needed it in my cart.  Cabbage, while I like it, doesn’t often make an appearance in my kitchen.  I got home, unpacked the groceries with no particular plan in mind.  So, the question was….what exactly was I going to do with this cabbage?

Image

This is what happened.

  • I shredded the cabbage and threw it in a bowl
  • I cut up 1 stalk of celery and half a cucumber into matchstick sized pieces and threw that in as well.
  • I added some mixed shoots to the bowl
  • And then about half a bunch of cilantro

Then I made the dressing.  I didn’t measure so these measurements are approximate.

  • Juice from 1 lime (that’s exact 🙂
  • 1-1 1/2 tablespoons sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce (maybe a little less)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Mongolian fire oil
  • 2 tablespoons honey
  • 2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar

I mixed that all up and drizzled a little on that big bowl of cabbage.  Then, I marinated 2 pieces of mahi mahi in the rest and cooked that in a pan on the stove.  I topped off a plate of this wonderful cabbage salad with some mahi.  And now, I’ve got 3 lunches for the week already. 

*It would be really easy to keep this vegetarian….just top it with your favorite protein.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Napa Cabbage Salad

  1. Ray Schwartz

    Hi Ali Sounds delicious. Miss you. Sorry I didn’t get to talk to you on Mother’s Day. Got your message. When is the Marathon you’ve been working toward? Love and hugs. Grandma Ray

Leave a Reply

