Mushroom, Barley, and Asparagus Salad

I often stick to the same grains: rice (usually short grain brown rice, occasionally another variety) and quinoa (which I know is actually a seed and not a grain).  In an effort to vary my diet a little bit I came up with the following. This is going to make a yummy lunch this week.

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 bunch asparagus, chopped (I would have put in all of it, but I had already used some up)
  • 1 sweet yellow onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1-2 Tablespoons olive oil
  • a little bit of rosemary, chopped (I had this in my fridge.  Feel free to omit)
  • 16 oz mushrooms (any variety will work well…I used a combination of shitake and baby bellas)
  • 1 cup pearled barley
  • 3 cups veggie stock
  • 1 can of chickpeas
  • Salt

I first sauteed the chopped asparagus in a little bit of olive oil, just until tender.  I then removed it from the pan because I didn’t want it to get all mushy.  Mushy asparagus is the worst.  I added the chopped onion to the pan, followed that with the garlic, and then the mushrooms.  Adding each a few minutes apart.  I let that cook for about 10 minutes or so.  I then added the rosemary, barley, and veggie stock.  I brought it to a boil and then let it simmer for about 40 minutes (until the barley was cooked).  Last but, not least, I threw back in the asparagus and added the chickpeas.  Viola!

5 servings- I stuck 2 in the freezer for a rainy day.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Mushroom, Barley, and Asparagus Salad

  1. Pingback: Roasted Butternut Squash and Spinach Quinoa | Pictures & Ponderings

  2. Ray Schwartz

    Sounds delicious. I reember the days when I used to cook. Memories.
    Glad you enjoy doing it. Staying healthy too. Maybe Dad will make your soup, and I’ll be able to taste it. xoxo Grandma Ray

Leave a Reply

