Warm Quinoa Salad

Quinoa has been making an appearance in my kitchen a lot lately, as has many variations of this salad.  Typically, Sunday is my cooking day, but I found myself with some time on my hands this evening and a few ingredients left over from last week’s food shop.  So, I decided to whip up my lunches for the week.  Plus, cooking allowed me to successfully avoid doing my laundry for just one more day.

I like this salad best warm, but I’ve eaten some of the variations cold too.  Either way works well.  Eaten alone, it’s delicious,  but it also works atop a big pile of greens.  Try it and eat it however you like best.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 2 cups water
  • 8-10 white button mushrooms, quartered
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 1/2 head broccoli, crowns and stems chopped
  • Pete’s Greens Mixed Shoots (baby greens from the plants of sunflowers, peas, and radishes)
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt

First, I cooked 1 cup quinoa in 2 cups water for about 15 minutes.  While that was cooking, I sauteed up the mushrooms, broccoli, and zucchini in a little bit of olive oil.  When the veggies were done, I dumped the quinoa and sauteed veggies into a bowl and mixed.  I then dumped in the mixed shoots (this is not something I typically have on hand….it was an impulse buy the other day when I went to pick up some frozen fruit.  While delicious, your salad would be fine without them or substituting some baby spinach).  I topped it off with a little ground salt.  And, there you have it…simple, healthy, and delicious.

BTW, I got 4 lunches out of this.

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Warm Quinoa Salad

  1. This looks really delicious and healthy!

  2. I can vouch for the amazingness of this dish 🙂

Leave a Reply

