Barley and Arugula Saute

I had read a recipe for a Barley, Arugula, and Grape Tomato Saute and since I rarely ever follow a recipe, I read it and was inspired to make my own version of it.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup barley
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • salt
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 pint baby bella mushrooms, chopped into small pieces
  • 5 shitake mushrooms, chopped into small pieces (these were left over from something else and hanging out in my fridge…this would work just fine without the addition of the extra mushrooms)
  • 10 grape tomatoes, cut into quarters
  • olive oil
  • lemon zest
  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 3-4 cups baby arugula

I cooked up 1/2 cup of barley in 1 1/4 cups salted water.  While that was simmering away, I sauteed the garlic in a little bit of olive oil and added the baby bellas and shitakes.  I let those cook for 8-10 minutes and then I added the tomatoes.  When the barley was done (all the water was evaporated-about 30 minutes), I added the barley to the pan of goodies.  I then added the chickpeas and arugula and cooked it until the arugula was wilted, just a couple of minutes.  When I took it off the heat I added a whole bunch of lemon zest.

It tastes great and it would work well with a variety of other grains: wheatberries, brown rice, etc.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

