Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted.  I’ve been busy with life….the usual stuff: work, visiting friends, doing yoga, running (yes, I did just write running).  Sundays are usually my cooking days, but I’ve been feeling a little under the weather and am laying low today.  Here is what I just cooked up.  It will be my lunches this coming week and I already can’t wait to eat it.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Deliciousness

Here’s what went into the pot:

  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil

I sauteed the onion and the garlic in the olive oil for 5 or so minutes and then I added:

  • about 2 tablespoons cumin
  • about 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • dash of cinnamon
  • salt

I mixed that up and added:

  • 4 cups veggie broth
  • 1 sweet potato, chopped
  • 1 can diced tomatoes with chilies
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 bunch of cilantro, chopped

I let all of that simmer together until the sweet potato was cooked, about 30-40 minutes.  It’s warm and comforting and absolutely delicious.  Plus, it’s healthy too.  Go ahead, try it!

1 Comment

Filed under 365 Project, One Pot Wonders, Recipes

One response to “Sweet Potato Black Bean Soup

  1. Wow! So hearty and warming.

Leave a Reply

