Baked Stuffed Acorn Squash

I might have outdone myself here….this is sitting on my counter waiting to be baked in a couple of hours and it looks delicious.

Baked Stuffed Acorn Squash

I roasted the acorn squash, cut side down, for 30 minutes before filling it

I'm going to stick these suckers back in the oven for 20-30 minutes or so. There is a chance they'll be topped with a little parm cheese. I'm not sure yet....

Baked Stuffed Acorn Squash

  • 1 small sweet onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped (from the garden of yours truly)
  • A large handful of spinach, chopped
  • 15 cherry tomatoes, quartered (also from the garden)
  • 7 baby bella mushrooms, chopped
  • brown rice (I cooked 2 cups and didn’t measure how much I used…probably about a cup)
  • 1 acorn squash
  • chopped walnuts (1/2-3/4 cup)
  • olive oil
  • salt & pepper

I first halved, took out the seeds,  and roasted the acorn squash, cut side down for 30 minutes at 350 degrees (the cut side was brushed with a little olive oil).  While that was cooking, I also cooked a batch of brown rice. This is something I tend to do on the weekends anyway. I keep it in the fridge and use it throughout the week. Once both of those things were cooking away, I started on the filling.  I added a little olive oil to the pan and then sauteed, adding in the following order: onions, jalapeno, garlic, mushrooms, tomatoes, spinach, walnuts, salt, and pepper.  When the rice was done I added about a cup to the mix.  I flipped the squash over and filled them right up.  I’ll stick it back in the oven for 20 or so minutes tonight before serving.  There may or may not be a little parmesan cheese sprinkled on top…..  If you make any variety of this, let me know how it comes out.

3 Comments

Filed under Recipes

3 responses to “Baked Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. Super idea….I will try it asap…right now don’t have the same squash but instead a honking big butternut squash and spagetti squash to use up…love the fall produce! Interesting to use jalepeno and brown rice etc….in your recipie…

  2. Pingback: My Contributions to Thanksgiving Dinner | Pictures & Ponderings

Leave a Reply

