Roasted Tomato Sauce

Hi There!  Today I made a simple, yet delicious tomato sauce so I thought some of you with an abundance of tomatoes on your hands might want to try this.  I did not really invent it.  I read a bunch of recipes online and went from there.

Pre-cooking

Ingredients:

  • Tomatoes, halved and quartered depending on size (I didn’t count them, I put one baking sheet and another dish equivalent to about half a baking sheet in the oven)
  • One vidalia onion, cut into cubes
  • 6 big cloves garlic, halved
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Post Cooking, Pre- Blending

I put everything in a single layer on a baking sheet and cooked it at 300 degrees for 2 hours.  Then, I put it all in a bowl and used my immersion blender to puree. I didn’t bother taking the skins off because that’s just too tedious for me and I don’t mind them.  However if you are going to try this and you mind skins, peel them off before you puree.

Post Blending

It’s delicious.  If I make it again, I might add some crushed red pepper flakes to make a spicy version.  If you try it, let me know how it comes out.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Recipes

Leave a Reply

