July 26, 2011- Today I head west…

For those of you who don’t know, I’ve led trips for high school kids for many years (this is my 12th summer  to be exact) out in the western U.S. After I got home from a fairly long stint in ’08, I thought I was finished. For several reasons, that was a tough summer.  And, after spending 11 years in a row getting on and off a bus, checking in and out of hotel rooms, staying up to the wee hours of the night, and rising at the crack of dawn,  it was time for me to reclaim my summers.  However, after two summers away (and an addiction that apparently needs a fix), I had the opportunity to run a short trip this year.  I’ll be gone for 9 days and I’m looking forward to getting back out there…. because really, we live in a beautiful country (and well, the paycheck doesn’t hurt either).

Here are a couple photos from years past (it’s funny to think that the beginning of my time doing this work was before the digital age….those photos are printed and stored in photo albums in my basement):

Delicate Arch. If you've never been to Arches N.P., you should go. It's my fav.

Bryce Canyon...makes you feel like you are on another planet.

Donna and I...you'll be missed! I may still be calling you 🙂

Hiking....one of my favorite things to do.

Another one from Arches.  I believe this one was at the "Windows"

Another one from Arches. I believe this one was at the "Windows"

Maroon Bells Hike outside Aspen

Oh dear Penske truck....how I will miss you this summer. And the lovely people that are usually around it.

GGreg, late night, cleaning up? devouring? chocolate covered everything. I may or may not have made myself sick from eating too much chocolate covered everything on more than one occasion.

7 Comments

Filed under Life

7 responses to “July 26, 2011- Today I head west…

  1. Greg

    Best wishes Ali! It is an addiction… I needed a break, too… Enjoy the moments out west. Happy hiking! Safe travels…

  2. Thanks Greg, my fellow addict. I’ll miss having you out there. I arrive in SLC tonight, kid-free so I don’t think I’ll have any problem remembering to grab my big bag 🙂

  3. Stacey Sullivan

    Happy trails! =)

  4. Andrea

    Yee ha Ali…I know your passion for this is deep! Have a blast 🙂

  5. Scott Wink

    I am still going through summer trip withdrawals and it has been around 8 years since my last tour…..I really miss it.

    ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

