Coconut Milk Ice Cream

It’s Sunday so you know I’m cooking up something.  I made a batch of Wehani rice this morning to use throughout the week in various ways. I’m going to have it with salmon for dinner (and probably lunch tomorrow too). But now, on to bigger and better things.  I was at Costco the other day and bought an ice cream maker.  This might surprise some of you since it’s a very rare occasion that I actually eat regular ice cream.  The primary purpose that I bought it is that you can puree fresh fruit, add a little agave or another sweetener of your choice and bam, you’ve got sorbet.  However, it’s a(nother) rainy Sunday and I didn’t want to make sorbet.  Sorbet is for hot, sunny, summer days.  Today’s experiment was Chocolate Almond Coconut Milk Ice Cream.  There are a variety of health benefits of coconut milk.  If you’re interested, look them up.  Here are the ingredients:

Not pictured: Unsweeted Cocoa Powder

First, I mixed 1 can of organic coconut milk, 1 can organic lite coconut milk (You can use 2 cans of regular, but in the interest of calories I used 1 of each), 5 tablespoons agave, and about 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder in the blender.

Then, I poured that into the ice cream maker and turned it on.  Since I LOVE the salty sweet combination, about 20 minutes later I ground some sea salt into the ice cream maker.  Then I added some smashed up raw almonds. I’m not sure how many.  The bag pictured above is a quart sized ziplock. I’d say it was about 1/3 cup.  I let the ice cream maker do it’s little magic for a few more minutes.  It was about the consistency of soft serve.  I packaged it up and put it into the freezer.  I prefer hard packed ice cream to soft serve.  Soft serve makes me gag a little.  And, I’m sure after living in Vermont for 16 years I should be calling it a cremee, but I still can’t bring myself to do it.

And here it is, after a couple of hours in the freezer.  It is amazing.  It’s not really sweet which is perfect for me, but if you have a big sweet tooth and you want to make some add more agave (or sweetener of your choice) and less salt.

2 Comments

Filed under Life, Recipes

2 responses to “Coconut Milk Ice Cream

  1. MAKE ME SOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (extra sweet please :))

Leave a Reply

