May 15, 2011- An afternoon in the kitchen

After a lovely night (and morning) with my great UVM friends, I hit up Healthy Living for some food for the week and set out to try some new recipes.  One success, one fail. You win some, you lose some, right?

First up was the Millet Risotto.  This recipe came directly from the CLEAN website.

3  Tbsp.
 olive oil
1/4  cup
red onion, finely chopped (I used yellow onion)
1  cup
coarsely chopped fresh mushrooms (any kind) (Baby Bella)
1  cup
millet
1/2  tsp.
dried oregano
1/2  tsp.
dried thyme
3  pieces
artichoke hearts
9
Sea salt and pepper
4  cups
organic vegetable broth
This came out good, not great.  I will eat it for lunch this week, but if I made it again, I’d definitely make some changes.  First, I’d put in way more mushrooms.  I’d at least double that amount, if not triple.  Also, the recipe didn’t call for garlic.  I added a clove, but I’d add two or three next time.  I’d also add more artichokes….probably double that.  And, I think a lemony flavor would be really good in this so I’d add lemon juice, zest, or both.
I know the spacing is coming out strange…..sorry….I can’t figure out how to fix it, but scroll down for a photo, directions, and a review of the chickpea patties.
Directions:

In a large pot over medium-high heat, heat the oil with the shallots and mushrooms, and cook, stirring frequently until softened (about 5 minutes).
Add cup of water, bring the heat to high, and add the millet. Then lower heat to medium and start to add the stock 1/2 cup at a time, stirring after each addition, every few minutes. When the stock has been almost completely absorbed after each addition, keep adding more, so the mixture is not quite soup but stays very moist.
Keep doing this until millet is tender and has at least doubled in size (about 20 minutes).
Add herbs and artichoke hearts at the last few minutes of cooking and taste for texture.
Season with salt and pepper and serve warm.
I also made these chickpea patties following a recipe from Real Simple. In addition to what is listed in the ingredients, I added the juice of one lemon and more cumin than called for.  I dipped them in brown rice flour.  The flavor is amazing, however in the last few minutes of cooking they completely fell apart.  Does anyone have an idea for what I can use to help bind this? Remember, I’m currently dairy (and egg), soy, gluten, and sugar free.

Before they fell apart.....

2 Comments

Filed under 365 Project, Cleanse, Life

2 responses to “May 15, 2011- An afternoon in the kitchen

  1. Amy

    Try putting the chickpea patties in the fridge first so they get really cold. I think that may help so they don’t fall apart. I have to do that with Mary’s black bean cake recipe.

Leave a Reply

