Cleanse- Week 1

Hi Friends.  I’ve decided to do a detoxification cleanse with my friend, Jane.   It’s a group cleanse based on the book CLEAN. There are 20 people in our group, all women, and we met this past Wednesday for the first time.  We’ll meet 4 more Wednesday evenings. I’m pretty excited to see what my body does and I’m excited to be doing this as part of a group.  Hopefully, things don’t get too ugly….  I thought I’d share some of what we’re doing here and let you know how I’m feeling.  Some of the basic rules of the cleanse are that all foods are dairy, soy, sugar, and gluten free.  I need to have 12 hours between dinner and breakfast, and two of my meals beginning next week will be liquid.  If you want to know more about the details, read the book 🙂 The actual cleanse lasts for 21 days. This week is the elimination phase where you can eat anything off the elimination diet list, but there are no restrictions as to liquid/solid meals.  Some people do the elimination diet for a week, others not at all.  I started yesterday, on Friday, because I had a big celebration on Thursday night during my last session of the grad class I was taking.  I didn’t want to start by putting myself in a situation of temptation.

I have eaten (and will continue to) a few foods not on the list.  I have grapes and an orange in my house, neither of which are on the list, however I’m not going to throw them away.  I’m just going to make sure they are eaten by the time I start cleansing on Tuesday.

Yesterday’s Meals

Breakfast: Smoothie made with frozen peaches and raspberries, a little almond milk, coconut water, about 2 tablespoons of almond butter, raw cacao, and a little bit of agave.  It was delicious.

I had brought an apple to eat as a mid-morning snack at work, but I wasn’t hungry so I didn’t eat it.

Lunch: Salad with mixed greens, grapes, celery, a can of tuna, and olive oil.  I also had a half of a sliced cucumber and a bunch of steamed broccoli

Afternoon snack: I was pretty hungry by the time I got home around 5 (lunch was an hour earlier than usual because of some scheduling changes for the day at work).  I ate one and a half brown rice cakes with a little coconut oil and almond butter spread on them.

Dinner: I went to them movies last night and snuck in some veggies that I sauteed in a little olive oil and a couple drops of toasted sesame oil with tamari….mushrooms, ramps, and broccoli was in the mix. I was kind of rushed….if I had more time I would have added some sort of protein (probably beans), but I actually felt fine without it.

Today, I’m traveling to New York for the night to see my mama for Mother’s Day.  I just ate some miso soup for breakfast.  While I plan on picking up some chickpea miso, small amounts of soy miso are allowed so I used what I had in the house.  Thanks for the miso breakfast idea, Jane!  It was great!  I added garlic, mushrooms, and fiddleheads that I sauteed first.

I’m going out to dinner with my mom and sister tonight.  We’re going to Waterzooi and while I’d LOVE to get the mussels and fries (YUM!), Waterzooi will still be there on my next trip to New York.  I’ll be eating a piece of fish….it depends what the specials are…. with some veggies on the side.  I’m supposed to have cold water fish only so I’m hoping they have salmon on their specials, but if not I’ll just do the best I can.  I’ll let you know what I end up with.

1 Comment

Filed under Cleanse

One response to “Cleanse- Week 1

  1. Pingback: Post Cleanse Update | Pictures & Ponderings

Leave a Reply

