April 24, 2011- Now all I need are the bales

I picked up some fertilizer today.  Next weekend I’ll get the straw bales.  I think I’m going to start with 4 for my first attempt at this.  You can plant 2 tomato plants, 3 zucchini, 4-5 cucumber, and 4-5 pepper plants in each one.  You can also plant in the sides.  That’s where I’ll be planting the acorn squash, spaghetti squash, cantaloupe, and watermelon (if those seeds ever grow).

I got some all purpose fertilizer, tomato plant fertilizer, and blood meal (which is really gross, but I keep reading about it in straw bale gardens).

Leave a comment

Filed under 365 Project, Straw Bale Gardening

Leave a Reply

