April 17, 2011- How do you pack?

I’m getting ready to go to Florida tomorrow, which for me involves cleaning my house and packing.  I love coming home to a clean and neat house.  So, while sometimes it gets messy while I’m living in it, my place is typically pretty clean and neat when I go away.

I’ve done my fair share of packing, unpacking, repacking and such throughout my travels.  Many years ago I had read a packing tip somewhere that I kind of live by: Take out everything you think you need and then put half of it away.  I add a step.  I take out everything I think I want to bring with me.  Then, I thin it out to what I think I need. After that, I cut it in half (or almost in half).  If you’ve never tried this, you should.  It works every time. I’ve pretty much got it down to a science at this point.  Most of the time, if I am traveling for a week or less, I can fit what I need into a backpack.  This is great for 2 reasons: 1. Having a carry-on bag these days is key. 2. I live so close to the airport that a backpack enables me to walk.  Let’s hope it’s not raining tomorrow morning.

Do you have any packing method?

This was in the first stage....during take everything out that I want to bring. Clearly, I do not need 3 sweatshirts for a 5 day trip to Florida. The bottom one was the first to go. Then, in the cutting in half stage the top one got put away too.

Do you think I like the color blue?

2 Comments

Filed under 365 Project, Life

2 responses to “April 17, 2011- How do you pack?

  1. MO

    Oh Ali – you should get some sort of special award for you ability to limit yourself when packing. Me? Not. So. Much.

    Instead, I pull out everything I wan to bring then stuff it all into these little things, roll out the air and throw them in the suitcase. http://travelstore.ricksteves.com/catalog/index.cfm?fuseaction=product&theParentId=7&id=166

  2. Trista

    Oh Ali-I appreciate the fact that most of my travels include a mini-van. This way I can pack just about all that I “might” need. Through the recent years I have found that I pack way too much for my children, my husband TRIES to squeeze in 16 t-shirts for a 7 day trip (with washer and dryer access), and I generally follow your rules (making room for everything else!) As for the clean house, I agree. There’s nothing like coming home from a vacation to a clean house. Safe travels to all!

Leave a Reply

