April 2nd- Swiss Chard Minestrone

Isn’t this stuff the prettiest?I picked some up today because I wanted to try out this recipe that I read in the NY Times: Swiss Chard and Chickpea Minestrone. I, of course, can’t follow a recipe to save my life.  Or rather, I don’t even try….I just use them to get ideas and as a place to jump off.

The grocery store didn’t have any leeks so instead of one onion and one leek, like the recipe calls for, my first modification was to use 2 onions.  I put in 2 chopped celery stalks instead of one, 6 cloves of garlic instead of 8.  I didn’t have thyme or chickpeas.  I just left out the thyme and used Great Northern beans instead of chickpeas.  Any of you who have seen me in the kitchen might have realized that I can’t bother tying things up in a cheese cloth.  I’m about good food that’s easy to make and clean up.  Hence the “One Pot Wonders.” I also just added some Parmesan cheese at the end instead of cooking it with the rind.  I’m sure that’s delicious…..I just didn’t have one lying around the house.

And the verdict is: You should make this.  It is delicious. I give it two thumbs up.  If you try it at home (my way or the recipe’s way) let me know how it comes out.

1 Comment

Filed under 365 Project, One Pot Wonders, Recipes

One response to “April 2nd- Swiss Chard Minestrone

  1. Pingback: April 4, 2011- Delicious Dinner | Pictures & Ponderings

Leave a Reply

