March 29, 2011- Straw Bale Garden

My coworker and friend, Christina, introduced me to this method of gardening that uses straw bales as raised beds.  Her mom did it with success on a tennis court!  Since my outdoor space is quite limited (not to mention my soil is pretty much sand and possibly toxic) and getting a couple of straw bales is cheaper, not to mention easier than building a couple raised beds, I decided to try it.  You have to prep the bales after you get them for 12-14 days.  This blog has great information about straw bale gardening if you are interested in reading up on it. On Sunday, I started some of my seeds.  I started 2 varieties of cherry tomatoes and 1 type of slicing tomato, jalapenos, and cantaloupe.  Next weekend, I’m going to start cucumbers, acorn squash, spaghetti squash, watermelon, and zucchini.  I can’t wait to see if I can make this work!

2 Comments

Filed under 365 Project, Straw Bale Gardening

2 responses to “March 29, 2011- Straw Bale Garden

  1. You’re off to a great start! One of these years I’ll be brave enough to start my plants from seed. With a baby on the way this is NOT that year. 🙂 Feel free to email me if you have any questions along the way! I’m not an expert, but I’ve learned from some earlier mistakes and have some new ideas in the works for this year’s planting – including using some of my old bales from last year. (Until now I’ve always gotten fresh bales each year.)

  2. Thanks so much! Starting from seeds don’t make me nervous. I think because I know if it’s not working out, I can still buy the already started plants. What makes me the most nervous right now is preparing the bales and fertilizing correctly. If you have any more specific information on this, please feel free to pass it along 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

