March 2, 2011- Getting Creative (kind of)

First of all, let’s discuss something……it’s March….who else can’t believe how quickly this happened?  Even though there is still snow on the ground, March pretty much = Spring.  I’m looking forward to the evening light and the long days of summer that end with a jump in the lake, but for now I still hope to get in a few more ski days.

I should be getting creative by working on the next project due for my Thursday night class, but I’m a good procrastinator and apparently I’m leaving that for the hour few spare minutes I have between work and class tomorrow.  I have to make a rod puppet….out of paper mache. I am making an astronaut (don’t worry…there will be photos).  I was first inspired when thinking about how much Benjamin loved his astronaut Halloween costume and I also wanted it to be something that I could possibly use during a unit of study.  Every other year I teach a science unit on the solar system so maybe I’ll be able to find a use for this.  Instead of prepping my puppet which currently exists as a ball of styrofoam on a rod, I’m thinking about this chalkboard I picked up on clearance yesterday at Homegoods.  I loved Kerrie and Kim’s chalk board wall so much, but I haven’t found a wall good for painting with chalkboard paint.  Plus, that’s too permanent for me.  This one currently has a white frame, but the next time you see it, it’s going to be a one of a kind.  Even though the white matches perfectly with the trim in my house,I’m going to paint the white frame.  I want some color.  I’m not sure what’s going to happen yet, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to involve some shades of blue, green, and purple.

1 Comment

Filed under 365 Project

One response to “March 2, 2011- Getting Creative (kind of)

  1. Mel

    saWEET! : – D

Leave a Reply

