One Pot Wonder- What’s simmering away today?

It’s Sunday afternoon and yup, you guessed it, something is simmering away on the stove.  Before I tell you what it is, I want to tell you that Sunday is my favorite day of the week.  Usually, Saturday is spent doing the have-tos: Laundry, cleaning, school work, etc. (these things have been blown off on occasion this winter to ski on Saturdays). Sunday mornings always start the same way: with one of John’s yoga classes at Evolution.  That is, my favorite class of the week.  The people and community are great and we always have a lot of fun.  Today we went deep into the hips which I’ve needed to do for a few weeks now.  Thanks John! Yesterday, I pretty much did nothing because the cold that I have been fighting decided to show it’s face (I’m feeling way better today).  So, some of the have tos were done today, but that’s okay….I’m still enjoying this somewhat mellow day.  What is your favorite day of the week?

On the stove right now is a soup made of the veggies I had.  Into the pot went:

These 2 always go into the pot...

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic minced
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 2 small mini zucchini, diced (1 would have been sufficient if they were a normal size)
  • 2 portobello mushrooms, chopped
  • about 3-4 cups shredded cabbage
  • 1 can of Great Northern beans (I intended on using dried beans, but I forgot to soak them last night so I resorted to the can)
  • 4 cups veggie broth
  • 2 cups water
  • 2 bay leaves (just for cooking- take them out when you eat this)
  • salt and pepper

Directions: Put all ingredients in the pot and simmer for awhile 🙂

Happy Sunday Everyone!

2 Comments

Filed under One Pot Wonders

2 responses to “One Pot Wonder- What’s simmering away today?

  1. yummmm. i need a good soup.

Leave a Reply

